Our mission

Origins

Childhood Cancer Switzerland emerged from the intensified collaboration between Swiss childhood cancer organizations that began in 2009. In 2012, a declaration of intent was signed to the effect that collaboration between the existing organizations should be intensified and better coordinated. Experience in preceding years had shown that this was something a loose alliance intended to facilitate experience and information sharing could not achieve. The intention was therefore to develop the childhood cancer network into an organizational form that could tackle complex tasks.

A permanent project group comprising representatives of the organizations was formed in February 2014, and a project manager was appointed on a 50% basis to set up the new organization. The Childhood Cancer Switzerland association was founded at the beginning of 2015 and launched in Bern on 15 February 2015, International Childhood Cancer Day. 

Federal Councillor Alain Berset has agreed to be the launch patron. 

Memorandum of Understanding, 2012

Representatives of the various organizations formulated a list of points at a meeting on 28 March 2012. This list, which appears below, remains the basis of their partnership.

  1. The aim of the network is to improve the situation of children with cancer and their families in all areas (medical treatment, psychosocial support, research and aftercare) so as to meet the needs of people affected by childhood cancer to the greatest extent possible. 
  2. To achieve this, it is essential to combine existing energies in Switzerland and individual issues associated with childhood cancer. 
  3. The childhood cancer network addresses the issues and activities that the existing organizations would not be able to successfully tackle alone.
  4. The aim is to improve the situation by means of three areas of activity of equal importance: self-help, research and aftercare 
  5. In addition, the childhood cancer network makes the general public (i.e. people not affected) aware of the situation and concerns of children with cancer and their parents. 
  6. Cooperation takes place primarily with organizations in the network.
  7. The resources needed for cooperation are provided by both the existing and third-party organizations.

Unser Engagement

Entstehung des Vereins

Kinderkrebs Schweiz ist aus der Zusammenarbeit von Schweizerischen Kinderkrebsorganisationen entstanden, die ab 2009 intensiviert wurde. 2012 wurde eine Absichtserklärung unterzeichnet, in der festgehalten wurde, dass die Zusammenarbeit zwischen bestehenden Organisationen intensiviert und besser koordiniert werden sollte. Erfahrungen der vorangehenden Jahre zeigten, dass dies mit einem lockeren Zusammenschluss, der primär dem Erfahrungsaustausch und der Information diente, nicht erreicht werden konnte. Das Netzwerk Kinderkrebs sollte deshalb weiter entwickelt werden, zu einer Organisationsform, die auch mit komplexeren Aufgaben betraut werden kann.

Im Februar 2014 wurde eine ständige Projektgruppe mit Vertretern der Organisationen gebildet und im Mai 2014 wurde ein Projektleiter zum Aufbau der neuen Organisation zu 50% angestellt. Anfang 2015 wird der Verein Kinderkrebs Schweiz gegründet und im Rahmen des internationalen Kinderkrebstages am 15.02.2015 in Bern lanciert.

Das Patronat für die Lancierung hat Bundesrat Alain Berset übernommen. 

Memorandum of Understanding, 2012

Die folgenden Punkte wurden von Vertretern der einzelnen Organisationen an der Sitzung vom 28. März 2012 in Bern formuliert und bilden bis heute die Grundlage für die Zusammenarbeit:

  1. Ziel des Netzwerks ist die Verbesserung der Situation krebskranker Kinder und ihrer Angehörigen in allen Bereichen (medizinische Behandlung, psychosoziale Betreuung, Forschung und Nachsorge) und eine möglichst umfassende Abdeckung der Bedürfnisse Betroffener.
  2. Um dies zu erreichen ist es unabdingbar, dass die bestehenden Kräfte in der Schweiz und Einzelhemen im Bereich Kinderkrebs gebündelt werden.
  3. Das Netzwerk Kinderkrebs nimmt sich derjenigen Themen und Aktivitäten an, die durch die bereits bestehenden Organisationen im Bereich Kinderkrebs einzeln nicht erreicht werden können.
  4. Die Verbesserung der Situation soll über drei gleichwertige Tätigkeitsfelder erreicht werden: Selbsthilfe, Forschung und Nachsorge.
  5. Weiter sensibilisiert das Netzwerk Kinderkrebs die Bevölkerung (= nicht betroffene Personen) über die Situation und Anliegen krebskranker Kinder und ihrer Angehörigen.
  6. Kooperationen werden primär mit den Organisationen des Netzwerks eingegangen.
  7. Die dazu notwendigen Mittel werden von den bestehenden Organisationen als auch durch Drittorganisationen zur Verfügung gestellt.