SPOG

About us

The Swiss Paediatric Oncology Group (SPOG) is a non-profit organisation that is committed to achieving better treatment options and a higher quality of life for children and adolescents suffering from cancer by means of patient-centred cancer research. SPOG is active throughout Switzerland and has international links. Our members are Swiss clinics caring for children and adolescents with cancer and blood diseases, and include the specialized departments of all five University hospitals as well as four paediatric and cantonal hospitals. SPOG founded the Swiss Childhood Cancer Registry and SPOG’s own tumour bank. 

Services and activities

Many cancers and blood diseases in childhood and adolescence can be successfully treated nowadays. However, this is still far from always being the case. Furthermore, children and adolescents develop different types of cancer from adults and have very specific needs. SPOG takes these aspects seriously and studies them as a matter of priority. 

We provide treatment and care that reflect the state of the art in medicine. Our aim is to enable each child and adolescent to receive the most effective treatment and enjoy as high a quality of life as possible in the short and long term. We achieve this through quality-controlled treatment studies and continuous consultation within SPOG, but also with international groups of experts.  The systematic recording and analysis of data by the Swiss Childhood Cancer Registry also allows issues associated with prevention and the long-term effects of treatment to be resolved.  We improve our knowledge of the specific characteristics of cancer in children and adolescents by collecting tumour samples in the organization’s own tumour bank and performing research on these samples.

GOPS

A notre propos

Le Groupe d’Oncologie Pédiatrique Suisse (GOPS) est un organisme d’utilité publique qui œuvre, par le biais d’activités de recherche axées sur les patients, en faveur d’une amélioration des traitements et de la qualité de vie des enfants et adolescents atteints de cancer. Nous nous engageons dans l’ensemble de la Suisse et disposons d’un réseau international. Nos membres sont des cliniques suisses qui prennent en charge des enfants et des adolescents atteints de cancer et de maladies du sang, notamment des services spécialisés des cinq hôpitaux universitaires suisses ainsi que de quatre hôpitaux pédiatriques ou cantonaux. Le GOPS a créé le Registre Suisse du Cancer de l’Enfant et sa propre banque de tumeurs. 

Prestations et services

De nombreuses affections cancéreuses et maladies du sang chez l’enfant et l’adolescent peuvent aujourd’hui être traitées avec succès. Mais cela n’est pas encore une généralité. Par ailleurs, les enfants et les adolescents ne souffrent pas des mêmes formes de cancer que les adultes et présentent des besoins spécifiques. Nous tenons compte de tous ces aspects et axons nos recherches sur ces problématiques prioritaires. 

Nous assurons des traitements et des prises en charge des patients à la pointe des sciences médicales. Notre objectif est de permettre à chaque enfant et chaque adolescent malade de bénéficier du traitement le plus efficace possible tout en jouissant d’une qualité de vie la meilleure possible aussi bien à court qu’à long termes. Pour ce faire, nous menons des études thérapeutiques contrôlées sur le plan de la qualité et nous concertons en permanence aussi bien au sein du GOPS qu’avec des groupes d’experts internationaux. Le recensement et l’analyse systématiques des données par le Registre Suisse du Cancer de l’Enfant permet en outre de clarifier des questions en suspens concernant la prévention et les effets à long terme du traitement. En rassemblant des échantillons tumoraux dans notre propre banque de tumeurs et en les étudiant, nous perfectionnons nos connaissances en ce qui concerne les particularités du cancer chez l’enfant et l’adolescent.