Youtube Video

"4outof5" - a campaign by Childhood Cancer Switzerland

Children with cancer can be cured!

Medical success in the treatment of childhood cancer means that 4 out of 5 children in Switzerland can be cured. Nonetheless, after accidents, cancer is still the second most common cause of death. In addition, more than two-thirds of children and adolescents who are cured of cancer (known as “childhood cancer survivors”) suffer from long-term complications.

Childhood Cancer Switzerland calls for solidarity

On 1 September 2017, Childhood Cancer Switzerland is launching a solidarity campaign and video with the aim of raising public awareness of this issue and of its place in the legislation and in health, social and research policy.

People in Switzerland will be informed about the situation of children with cancer, survivors and their relatives:

  • Children and young people with cancer and their families all face challenges during the treatment. The health-related and financial pressures are high. Often one parent has to give up work, and there is no insurance for lost earnings in this case. The families also incur high additional costs for hospital visits, psychosocial support and meals away from home, which are not covered.
  • From a medical perspective, the challenge in treating cancer is not only to heal the disease, but also to reduce the long-term physical and psychological side-effects as much as possible.
  • Specific research and clinical trials are also needed to develop new treatments and medicines especially for children with cancer.
  • There is a lack of specific medical and psychosocial services for survivors to ensure that, as far as possible, they have equal personal, professional and economic opportunities despite their illness.

Please support the campaign by sharing the video on social media, linking to it from your website, including it in your communications, or placing an advert in your publications. (See detailed information below)

show more show less

Get involved in the campaign!

We need your help to ensure the campaign reaches as many people as possible!

  • Share the video clip on social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Linkedin, Xing, etc.)
  • Use the following hashtags: #4outof5  #ShareDonate  #ChildhoodCancerSwitzerland  #gogold
  • Put a link on your website to our campaign page. Online banners are available for this.
  • Place an advert in your magazine, company publication, association newsletter, etc.

Materials for the Childhood Cancer Switzerland campaign are available here:

Link to the video: youtu.be/DHqT3ZI7KMA

Fact sheet
Download Online-Banner (300x250px)
Download Online Banner (600x160px)
Advert german
Download animated gif

show more show less

Campaign sponsors

The umbrella organisation “Childhood Cancer Switzerland”, comprising the following organisations:

  • ARFEC Association of families with children with cancer in French-speaking Switzerland
  • Childhood Cancer Research Foundation Switzerland
  • Kinderkrebshilfe Schweiz
  • Swiss Childhood Cancer Registry
  • SPOG Swiss Paediatric Oncology Group
  • Basel Region Childhood Cancer Foundation
show more show less

Research is important for children with cancer

Children and adolescents in Switzerland who have cancer are treated at nine centres specialising in paediatric oncology. The challenge is to minimise the long-term side effects of the aggressive therapy as far as possible. An important issue here is the fact that the drugs used were not developed for children. Clinical trials are needed to ensure that they are nonetheless used in a scientifically controlled manner.

A specific research effort is also needed so that new therapies and medicines can be made available for cancers for which the cure rate is currently low or which have serious side effects. Childhood Cancer Switzerland is represented in European research projects and lobbies for improvements in the medical care provided for children and adolescents with cancer, to ensure that the clinical research needed to fulfil this aim can be carried out, and for the promotion of basic and laboratory-based research into childhood cancer.

show more show less

Self-help

The diagnosis and treatment of cancer in children and adolescents are a stressful experience for everyone concerned. Children and adolescents with cancer spend months travelling between their home and hospital. It is an extremely stressful time for children and parents alike, and one associated with financial, health and psychological issues.

Parent organisations and foundations provide support for families, for example by paying for travel between home and the children’s hospital, or by organising events at which those affected can talk to others in a similar situation and recharge their batteries.

Childhood Cancer Switzerland is also involved in political issues, such as protection against dismissal of affected parents and reimbursement of costs by insurance providers.

show more show less

Follow-up

Many people who had cancer in childhood continue to suffer as adults from the physical and psychological effects of the disease and its treatment. The reduction of long-term complications is an important aspect in optimising oncological therapy to ensure that children and adolescents whose cancer has been treated successfully can continue to enjoy a good quality of life in the longer term.

There are many long-term complications of cancer treatment: amputations, growth disorders, cardiovascular diseases, disrupted hormones, infertility, cognitive impairment and an elevated risk of developing a second cancer. Survivors need individual follow-up so that these complications can be identified at an early stage.

The launch of the “Suivinet” internet platform and the introduction of the European Survivorship Passport are two activities with which Childhood Cancer Switzerland has set durable standards for improved information, counselling and networking of survivors and the establishment of systematic follow-up.

show more show less

Childhood Cancer Switzerland

In 2015, several renowned childhood cancer organisations joined forces under the umbrella organisation “Childhood Cancer Switzerland” to improve the situation of patients and their families in a number of areas.

Childhood Cancer Switzerland provides a voice for authorities and other organisations and represents the interests of parents, survivors and doctors, e.g. in matters concerning legislation and health and research policy.

For more information, please visit: www.childhoodcancer.ch.

show more show less

Youtube Video

"4von5" - eine Kampagne von Kinderkrebs Schweiz

Kinder mit Krebs können geheilt werden!

Von 5 krebskranken Kindern und Jugendlichen in der Schweiz können 4 geheilt werden. Trotzdem bleibt Krebs – nach Unfällen – die zweithäufigste Todesursache bei Kindern. Dazu kommt, dass mehr als zwei Drittel der geheilten Kinder und Jugendlichen (sogenannte «Childhood Cancer Survivors» kurz Survivors) an Spätfolgen leiden.

Kinderkrebs Schweiz ruft zur Solidarität auf

Um eine breitere Öffentlichkeit für das Thema und dessen Besonderheiten in der Gesetzgebung und der Gesundheits-, Sozial- und Forschungspolitik zu sensibilisieren, lanciert Kinderkrebs Schweiz am 1. September 2017 eine Solidaritätskampagne mit einem Videospot.

Die Schweizer Bevölkerung soll informiert werden über die Situation von krebskranken Kindern, von Survivors und von Angehörigen:

  • Krebskranke Kinder und Jugendliche sowie ihre Familien sind während der Behandlung gemeinsam gefordert. Die gesundheitlichen und  finanziellen Belastungen sind hoch. Oft muss ein Elternteil die Berufstätigkeit aufgeben und es gibt dafür keine Erwerbsausfallversicherungen. Für die Familie entstehen zudem hohe Zusatzkosten für Spitalbesuche, psychosoziale Unterstützung und auswärtige Verpflegung, die nicht gedeckt sind.
  • Medizinisch besteht die Herausforderung einer Behandlung darin, nicht nur den Krebs zu heilen, sondern die körperlichen und psychischen Langzeitnebenwirkungen möglichst gering zu halten.
  • Ebenfalls braucht es spezifische Forschung und klinische Studien, um neue Therapien und Medikamente speziell für krebskranke Kinder zu entwickeln.
  • Es gibt nicht genügend spezifische medizinische und psychosoziale Angebote für Survivors, damit sie trotz ihrer Erkrankung in persönlicher, beruflicher und wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht möglichst gleiche Chancen haben.

Unterstützen Sie die Kampagne, indem Sie den Videospot in den sozialen Medien teilen, auf Ihrer Webseite verlinken, in Ihre Kommunikation einbinden oder ein Inserat in Ihre Publikationen aufnehmen. (detaillierte Infos siehe unten)

Werden Sie Teil der Kampagne

Damit die Kampagne möglichst viele Menschen erreicht, sind wir auf Ihre Unterstützung angewiesen!

  • Teilen Sie den Videoclip in sozialen Medien (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Linkedin, Xing etc.)
  • Verwenden Sie folgende Hashtags: #4von5   #ShareDonate   #KinderkrebsSchweiz   #gogold
  • Verlinken Sie Ihre Webseite mit unserer Kampagnenseite indem Sie unsere online Banner nutzen.
  • Schalten Sie ein Inserat in Ihrer Zeitschrift, Firmenpublikation, Vereinsblatt etc

Hier finden Sie die Materialen zur Kampagne von Kinderkrebs Schweiz:

Link zum Videospot: youtu.be/34RkxwYylNA

Information zur Kampagne
Download Online-Banner (Format 300x250px)
Download Online Banner (Format 600x160px)
Download Inserat
Download animated gif

Träger der Kampagne

Träger der Kampagne ist der Dachverband Kinderkrebs Schweiz mit seinen Mitgliedsorganisationen:

  • ARFEC Association romande des familles d’enfants atteints d’un cancer
  • Stiftung Kinderkrebsforschung Schweiz
  • Kinderkrebshilfe Schweiz
  • Schweizer Kinderkrebsregister SKKR
  • SPOG Schweizerische Pädiatrische Onkologie Gruppe
  • Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder, Regio Basiliensis

Forschung ist für krebskranke Kinder zentral

Krebskranke Kinder und Jugendliche werden in der Schweiz in neun spezialisierten Zentren behandelt. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, die Langzeitnebenwirkungen möglichst gering zu halten. Da die eingesetzten Medikamente nicht für Kinder entwickelt wurden, braucht es klinische Studien um diese Medikamente in wissenschaftlich kontrollierter Weise einzusetzen.

Auch spezifische Forschungsbemühungen für die Einführung neuer Therapien und Medikamente für Krebserkrankungen mit bisher schlechten Heilungschancen oder schweren Nebenwirkungen sind notwendig. Deshalb ist Kinderkrebs Schweiz in europäischen Forschungsprojekten vertreten und macht sich stark für die Verbesserung der medizinischen Behandlung von krebskranken Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Selbsthilfe - viele Probleme werden aufgefangen

Die Diagnose und die Behandlung einer Krebserkrankung im Kindes- und Jugendalter sind eine belastende Erfahrung für alle Betroffenen. Monatelang bewegen sich die betroffenen Kinder und Jugendlichen zwischen Zuhause und Spital. Kinder und Eltern sind während der Behandlung stark gefordert. Finanziell, gesundheitlich und psychisch.

Elternorganisationen und Stiftungen setzen sich für die Unterstützung von Familien ein, z.B. durch die Übernahme von Fahrkosten zwischen Wohnort und Kinderspital oder mit der Organisation von Treffen für Austausch- und Erholungsmöglichkeiten.

Kinderkrebs Schweiz nimmt sich zudem politischen Themen an, beispielsweise dem Kündigungsschutz von betroffenen Eltern und Kostenübernahmen durch die Versicherungen.

Nachsorge für Lebensqualität nach dem Krebs

Viele Betroffene leiden auch noch als Erwachsene an körperlichen und psychischen Folgen der Erkrankung und der Therapie. Damit von Krebs geheilte Kinder und Jugendliche längerfristig eine gute Lebensqualität haben, ist die Reduktion der Spätfolgen ein wichtiger Aspekt in der Optimierung der onkologischen Behandlungen.

Spätfolgen der Krebsbehandlung sind vielfältig: Amputationen, Wachstumsstörungen, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Störungen im Hormonhaushalt, Unfruchtbarkeit, kognitive Einschränkungen oder ein erhöhtes Risiko für eine zweite Krebserkrankung. Um diese früh zu erkennen, brauchen Survivors eine individuelle und gezielte Nachsorge.

Mit der Lancierung der Internetplattform „Suivinet“ und der Einführung des „Europäischen Survivorship Passports“ setzt Kinderkrebs Schweiz Massstäbe für die verbesserte Information, Betreuung und Vernetzung von Survivors sowie für den Aufbau einer systematischen Nachsorge.

Über Kinderkrebs Schweiz

Um mit vereinten Kräften und in den verschiedenen Bereichen die Situation der Betroffenen und ihren Familien zu verbessern, haben sich 2015 namhafte Kinderkrebsorganisationen im Dachverband «Kinderkrebs Schweiz» zusammengeschlossen.

Kinderkrebs Schweiz ist das Sprachrohr und vertritt die Interessen von Eltern, Survivors und Ärzten bei Behörden und anderen Organisationen, unter anderem im Rahmen der Gesetzgebung oder der Gesundheits- und Forschungspolitik.

Weitere Informationen zu unserer Organisation finden Sie hier:
kinderkrebs-schweiz.ch/portrait/organisation/verein.html